EEA Grants:

Through the EEA Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway contribute to reducing social and economic disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with the beneficiary counties in Europe. The three counties cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement of the European Economic Area (EEA).

For the period 2009-2014, the EEA Grants and Norway Grants amount to €1.79 billion. Norway contributes around 97% of the total funding. Grants are available for NGOs, research and academic institution, and the public and private sectors in the 12 newest EU member states, Greece, Portugal and Spain. There is a broad cooperation with donor state entities, and activities may be implemented until 2016. Key areas of support are environmental protection and climate change, research and scholarship, civil society, health and children, gender equality, justice and cultural heritage.